Opinions

 O

Everyone has an opinion. Sometimes it is the same as yours other times it is not. Tonight a work my youngest daughter was having a conversation with someone and they told her that ADHD, anxiety and depression are all just a state of mind. You can change the way you think and none of those things exist. Thankfully my daughter respected the other person’s point of view and continued the conversation on to other topics. I also had someone tell me today that suicide is selfish. It is all in your beliefs and your knowledge. Since everyone has an opinion I hope others are kind enough to respect them if their opinion differs from theirs. Be kind, think before you speak and if you have nothing nice to say try to be silent.

7 thoughts on “Opinions

  1. I have very defined opinions on many things, but I try to keep them to myself in polite conversation. We all come from a different place and a different perspective. So, it’s understandable we’ll have differing opinions. What I can’t stand is when someone flat out states an opinion then, says “isn’t that right?” like they expect you to agree. As I get older, I’ve gotten to where I will say something like, “I don’t see it that way.” rather than having them think I share their opinion.
    Visit me at: Life & Faith in Caneyhead
    I am Ensign B of Tremps’ Troops
    with the A to Z Challenge

    Like

  2. josna says:

    You’re clearly not lost in chaos if you’re still keeping up with the Challenge in style! Yes, think before you speak and first and foremost, be kind. Thank you for reminding me–I tend to blurt out the first thing that comes into my head and then regret it when it’s to late. What’s said can’t be un-said.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The reminder is more from my daughter and her ability to be kind to others. I am a react and then think kind of girl most of the time, something I am also working on. Thank you for the encouragement with the Challenge. I have fallen behind a bit, but not giving up at least!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Gene'O says:

    Eesh.

    Good point here. This goes double for Internet communication, I think. I try to keep mine positive at all times. Haven’t always been successful at that, but I try.

    I would add: When expressing an opinion, it’s important to clearly communicate that it is an opinion, and not state it as a fact.

    Happy A to Z!

    Like

Leave a Reply

