Imagine If…..

I

Imagine if you were a dinosaur. What kind would you be? Would you have feathers? Would you be green or purple?

Imagine if you were a pink pig. What would you eat? Would you were a pink dress with polka dots?

Imagine if you could fly. Where would you fly to? Are you a bird or a plane?

While my children were young we did a lot of imagine if. We had lots of talks about what it would be like if this or that happened. We made up stories to tell each other instead of always reading what others wrote. I wanted my children to be creative and think of the possibilities others might overlook. I wanted them to think for themselves.

I know I have succeeded because they all have strong convictions. They enjoy debating all types of topics with each other. Some times they will even debate the other side of an issue than what they actually believe just to debate with their siblings. However their passions run deep for topics they care about. So deep that I often get a phone call about how others are so unwilling to hear any point of view that is different from their own. At times like that I remind my children that those are reminders for them to make sure not to treat others they way they sometimes are treated.

I challenge you to imagine if today, tomorrow and the rest of your life you can be the best you possible.

4 thoughts on “Imagine If…..

  1. Petra says:

    I love imagining things in a different way or a greater possibility and I love that I still get to do that with my kids! Nice!

    Like

  2. clicksclan says:

    Even though I’m nearly thirty I still like to play these imagination games, it can be good to figure out how you feel about things (like ‘if X happened then I would…’) as well as getting ideas for writing. 🙂

    Cait @ Click’s Clan

    Like

Leave a Reply

