Books, Books, Books and More Books

 B

Books have always been a huge part of my life. I love escaping to another reality, even if it is for just a little while. I started a love for books with my children before they were a year old. This love has grown in them each and every day. Their love started the same and then changed in each one over time.

The start was simple little board books with pictures, texture points and reflective surfaces. Moving on to Dr Seus, The Bernstein Bears and other similar books. Then came the more challenging children books, the ones with tons more words and sometimes did more than tell a story but taught a concept as well. Next were chapter books and then bigger chapter books. I read to them a lot. It was a bed time ritual, one that I miss some times.

A list of some of our favorite books:

  • The Shadow Children series by Margaret Peterson Haddix
  • Books by Shel Silverstein
  • The Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling

Their tastes in books have changed since those days and sometimes when I visit my son I see one of these old childhood books laying around his house. When I ask he assures me I am not missing a book of the book shelf that holds all of their childhood books. I look forward to sharing those same books with the next generation.

9 thoughts on “Books, Books, Books and More Books

  1. Writingofpassage says:

    I love books as well. As a child I spent hours every week at the public library. My favourite smell then, and now, is of a large space filled with books 🙂

    Like

  2. Chippy says:

    My favourite books when I was a kid were Roald Dahl’s books. In fact I’ve still got an omnibus that contains Matilda, The BFG and George’s Marvellous Medicine

    Like

  3. Liz Brownlee says:

    Hello – I think introducing your children to book, stories and poetry is the single most important thing you can do. Reading is crucial to all other subjects, if you can read well you have a huge head start. Plus – those people who read books are far les likely to suffer mental illness, amazingly, as when they are sad or finding things hard, they have somewhere to escape – in a book. Reading fills the mind with ideas and solace. I like Shel too – in fact, I am a children’s poet in the UK. ~Liz http://www.lizbrownleepoet.com

    Like

  4. Shawn Yankey says:

    Love Shel Silverstien!
    Shawn from Laughing at Life 2

    Like

  5. josna says:

    Reading at bedtime was a beloved ritual in our family as well. I miss it too–think I enjoyed it at least as much as my son did! I still have all the best books in boxes somewhere in the attic, and a small bookcase of books from my own childhood, which are probably my most treasured possessions. Thanks for this piece.

    Like

Leave a Reply

