Women Who Inspire Me

W

The women who inspire me are my Grandma, my Mom and my Daughters.  The reasons are varied for each one.

My Grandma is someone I visited every summer. We lived in different states while I was growing up. I remember her always working early in the day, so early the sun wasn’t up yet. Then after work she would head over to the bar and have a drink. Other times we would visit her friends and they would sit around talking and drinking. Very seldom do I remember my grandma not drinking. She was firm and spoke her mind. I am not sure if my Grandpa was a quiet man by nature or out of necessity. Awhile back health wise my Grandma was not doing well and she quite smoking and drinking. I was impressed with her ability to give both up so quickly. She inspires me to strive to provide my own children with better memories of our time together.

My Mom and I struggled with our relationship while I was growing up. I was an only child until I was 8 and yet I don’t have a lot of memories of my life prior to that. One of my memories is a stuggle over my not wanting to eat my dinner. I hate goulash, there is simply nothing I like about it and eating it caused me to throw up. I did everything I could think of to get rid of the food on my plate. I fed it to my cat, spit it in my milk, pushed it under my plate, put it in my napkin and tried to eat it on bread. Towards the end of my Mom’s life our relationship improved or at least I was better at communicating with her. She inspires me to listen to my children to hear what they say and to ask questions if I don’t understand.

My oldest daughter is a reflection of myself. I see myself in her everyday and that includes my faults. She does not like to be told what to do, she likes to be right and she likes to win. She is a very competitive person and sometimes the winning blocks her view of everything else. She inspires me to improve myself so she has a better role model.

My youngest daughter is the bravest person I know. She suffers from anxiety, depression and ADHD. She attended 2 and 1/2 years of school without speaking. Her depression is at times unbearable and the ADHD use to be very bothersome. Through all of this she will still pick up the phone and call anyone you tell her to, she will go up to a stranger’s door and sell them Girl Scout Cookies and she will stand up in front of 100 people and lead a song or give a speech. She is braver than I am and she inspires me to take chances and to keep trying.

Each one of these women have inspired me either because of something positive they have done or because I want to avoid their negative impact on my life. I hope I inspire others by my positive contributions instead of my negative habits.

2 thoughts on “Women Who Inspire Me

  1. lyndagrace says:

    Hello, I am visiting from the A-Z challenge. I liked the way you were able to discover positive qualities from each of the women in your life and then apply those attributes to areas in your own life.
    I am constantly impressed the way my own daughter is able cope with a busy and complex life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

