Social Media and My Thoughts on Yesterday

Today our Zero to Hero challenge is to activate a social network. I am not ready to take that step. I started this blog to find myself in my new roles in my life. I have told no one of  this adventure in my day to day life. I have many reputations to uphold or live down and I wanted a place to come discover who I am going to be next without so many preconceived ideas of who I already should be interfering with that.

Instead here are my thoughts on yesterday and two of the reputations I explored. Tessa over at life and loveliness shared some of my same views on her own reputation and why she also doesn’t invite her everyday friends to her blog. Not that she hides it either, seems like she is liking her own space to be herself. Over on Branching Mama I cried. I felt so sad and helpless. Overwhelmed by the unfairness of life and other’s reactions to a reputation. I was saddened by how much my own children have had to deal with because who their parents are or other family members and by default they are given a reputation solely by association. Then I was reminded of the inspiration that some provide to the world by their ability to look past these false reputations.

Although today I am not ready to make the social connection I am not fully turning my back on it either. I will explore my feelings on that in the future, maybe in a year or so. Until then I will continue to follow my undetermined path and see where it leads me and who I meet along the way.

3 thoughts on “Social Media and My Thoughts on Yesterday

  1. Monique says:

    I’m so in agreement with this challenge. Just not doing it.

    Like

  2. Sarah says:

    I share my posts on Twitter because I don’t have as many friends and family on twitter. It’s easier to write from the heart (as weird as it sounds) when you can do it somewhat anonymously!

    Like

Leave a Reply

