Mean People SUCK!!

Mean people suck. Especially when you know they are only being mean to you personally for some unknown reason. Or maybe you know the reason and still find their meanness unjustified. Perhaps you have different values and morals than they do, maybe  you parent differently of course it could be that  you just have a different outlook on life altogether. Whatever the reason life would be more peaceful if we all spoke kindly to each other. Ranting and raving about the injustices that have been brought against us can be done in the private of our homes with our most trusted confidants. We really don’t need to air out our grievances in the middle of the street, in front of others who really have no idea what is really going on.

I have found myself on both sides of this issue in the last 24 hours. I have twice been the aggressor causing others public humiliation and I have been the witness to another group’s humiliation. In the first case I wasn’t aware that I was acting differently until someone took the time to point out that, yes, I was being a jerk. I spoke harshly and unkindly to a fellow human and in the same breath showed love and friendship to another and I managed to do this in front of the person I was being rude to as well. Then I turned around and took out my hurt feelings over another issue out on my youngest daughter. I haven’t seen her much over this holiday break and she wanted to go babysit and make money for Christmas presents. Instead of being thankful that she found away to raise the money she needed I was upset that I only got to see her for about 2 hours all day. No, instead I tell her no she cannot go and must stay home with me. Thankfully I did change my mind and allowed her to go.  Both of these situations occurred on the street corner while we waited for our annual Parade of Lights to start. Very public event where at the end of the parade Santa lights our city Christmas Tree. My girls have been in the parade for the last 5 years at least. And this is where I also witnessed a very loud public humiliation of a group walking in the parade. They were approached by a man and a woman and told that they were to walk behind the float and not get in the way. If at anytime either of them thought that the group was causing problems they, the man and woman, would not allow them to walk. I do understand their concerns about safety, however the three adults that were walking with this 8of kids aged 11 to 17 probably had the situation under control without the yelling and intimidating.

This is what I learned. Mean people suck and sometimes I am the leader of the mean people. So my goal is to think before I speak to the people that I know I have issues with. The ones who parent differently, have different values and morals and different ways of thinking all together these are the people I need to filter myself with. Just because they are different from me does not make me right and I still need to be respectful and kind. I also need to make sure my expectations are clear and that I understand the expectations of others as well. Mean people SUCK and I am making the choice not to be mean.

 

Leave a Reply

